Solar System

The Solar System, is the stellar system comprising the Sun and the retinue of celestial objects gravitationally bound to it: the eight planets, their 162 known moons, three currently identified dwarf planets and their four known moons, and thousands of small bodies. This last category includes asteroids, meteoroids, comets, and interplanetary dust.

The principal component of the Solar System is the Sun ; a main sequence G2 star that contains 99.86% of the system's known mass and dominates it gravitationally. Because of its large mass, the Sun has an interior density high enough to sustain nuclear fusion, releasing enormous amounts of energy, most of which is radiated into space in the form of electromagnetic radiation, including visible light. The Sun's two largest orbiting bodies, Jupiter and Saturn, account for more than 90% of the system's remaining mass.

  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Reddit
  • RSS